Chatham News

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra commemorates 50th anniversary of Silent Spring with commissioned work by Steven Stucky

Photo copyright 2005 Hoebermann Studio

Steven Stucky

By: Amanda Leff Ritchie,
Senior Public Relations Specialist
January 26, 2012

In commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the first publication of Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring, a commissioned symphonic work of the same name by Steven Stucky, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra composer in residence, will have its world premier at 8 p.m. on Friday, February 17. The event is held in collaboration with Chatham’s Rachel Carson Institute. On Wednesday, February 15, the Chatham community is invited to a discussion with Mr. Stucky in the Welker Room of James Laughlin Music Hall from 7 to 9 p.m. about how the themes of his composition are reflections of Rachel Carson’s writing.

Tickets to the premier of Silent Spring are available for purchase online under the event titled “Music as Inspiration.” The Chatham Group Code is 26942. For information on student discounts, contact Dr. Patricia DeMarco at 412-365-2702 or