Melanie Brown Lecturer | Chatham University, Pittsburgh, PA

Chatham University

The Melanie Brown Lecturer Series

The Melanie Brown Lecturer Series is one of the exciting opportunities for aspiring writers to meet established authors, specifically writers of fiction, through Chatham’s MFA in Creative Writing program. The Melanie Brown Lecturer is presented each year through the generosity of The Melanie and Fred R. Brown Endowed Fund.

Melanie Brown was inspired by the MFA program's emphasis on nurturing creative writers in part through place-based writing. The selection of each year's Melanie Brown Lecturer is guided by the desire to highlight fiction writers with a strong sense of place in her or his writing. Students will have opportunities to interact with the Melanie Brown Lecturer both in and out of the classroom.

Martha Southgate

2019 Melanie Brown Lecturer

Martha Southgate

Martha Southgate is the author of four novels: The Taste of SaltThird Girl From The Left, The Fall of Rome and Another Way to Dance. Her fiction has won numerous accolades and she has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts and the Bread Loaf Writers Conference. Her nonfiction work has appeared in many publications, most recently The American Scholar and The New York Times Book Review. She has taught at Vermont College of Fine Arts and Sarah Lawrence and she is working towards an MFA in Playwriting at Brooklyn College.

Lecture Date: January 28, 2019

View previous Melanie Brown Lecturers »