Chatham News

Presidents’ Athletic Conference names new board council leadership, names Chatham senior Brittany Brown president of Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

By: Joe Onderko, Presidents’ Athletic Conference
August 17, 2010

WEXFORD, Pa. (August 17, 2010) … Dr. Kenneth Smith, president of Geneva College, will serve as the chair of the Presidents’ Athletic Conference (PAC) Presidents’ Council in the 2010-2011 academic year. Smith replaces Dr. Esther Barazzone, president at Chatham University, who served as the chair of the PAC Presidents’ Council in 2009-2010.

With Dr. Smith assuming the chair of the Presidents’ Council, the other standing PAC councils will also be chaired by Geneva College representatives in the upcoming academic year. Geneva AD Kim Gall
will serve as chair of the PAC Athletic Directors Council and the PAC Senior Woman Administrators Council (SWAC) in 2010-2011, while the PAC Faculty Athletic Representatives Association (PAC FARA) will be
chaired by Geneva FAR Denise Murphy-Gerber.

The PAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) has elected senior basketball player Brittany Brown of Chatham University as President for 2010-2011. Washington & Jefferson College soccer player Hannah Shaner, a junior, will serve as PAC SAAC Vice President in 2010-2011.

Joe Onderko will continue to serve as PAC executive director in 2010-2011. Onderko, a member of the NCAA Division III Financial Aid Committee, begins his fifth year as executive director and tenth year
overall with the conference this fall.

Founded in 1955, the Presidents’ Athletic Conference continues its mission of promoting intercollegiate athletics and the pursuit of academic excellence. Consisting of 10 select private institutions in Pennsylvania,
West Virginia and Kentucky, the PAC remains a unique organization in this day of high pressure intercollegiate athletics. With academics at the center of each member’s philosophy, the PAC is built on the principle that an athletic program is a part of college life, but not an entity in itself. The PAC annually crowns champions in 19 sports (10 men, nine women).