Chatham University

Academic Calendar

2015-2016 | 2016-2017

2015-2016 School of Arts, Science & Business and Falk School of Sustainability

Note: Graduate Psychology programs follow the SASB and FSS calendar. (rev. 8.12.2015)

+ Fall 2015 Semester

14-week session

Opening ConvocationSunday, August 30
First day of classesMonday, August 31
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 8
Long Weekend Mon-Tues, October 12-13
Last day to submit midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, October 16
Registration for Spring, Maymester and Summer 2016 Tues-Fri, November 3-13
Last day to withdraw Monday, November 9
Family & Friends Weekend Fri-Sun, November 6-8
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Saturday, December 12
Final Exams (grades are due within 48 hours of exam) Mon-Thurs, Dec. 14-17
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, December 18
Commencement, 5:00 pm Friday, December 18
Late registration for Spring 2016 begins Monday, December 21
Degree conferral for Fall 2015 graduates Wednesday, December 30

1st 7-week session (no Long Weekend for 7-week courses)

Opening Convocation Sunday, August 30
First day of classes Monday, August 31
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 8
Last day to withdraw Monday, October 5
Last day of classes Monday, October 19
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, October 26

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Wednesday, October 21
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, October 28
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, November 24
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Saturday, December 12
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, December 18

General notes:
Rosh Hashanah is Sept. 13-15 and Yom Kippur is Sept. 23
University of Pittsburgh classes begin August 31 and end December 19

+ Spring 2016 Semester

14-week session

First day of classes Monday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Last day to submit midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, February 26
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Last day to withdraw Monday, March 21
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
Last Day of Classes Monday, April 18
Final Exams (grades are due within 48 hours of exam) Wed-Sat, April 20-23
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Wednesday, April 27
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 29
Late registration for Fall 2016 begins Monday, May 2
Degree conferral for Spring 2016 graduates Monday, May 30
Commencement, 10:00 am Monday, May 16

1st 7-week session

First day of classes Monday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Last day to withdraw Monday, February 8
Last day of classes Monday, February 22
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, February 29

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Tuesday, February 23
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, March 1
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Last day to withdraw Monday, April 4
Last day of classesMonday, April 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Wednesday, April 27

Maymester

First day of classes Monday, April 25
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, April 27
Last day to withdraw Friday, May 6
Last day of classes Friday, May 13
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, May 13

General Notes:
The University of Pittsburgh classes begin January 6 and end April 30, with Commencement May 1

+ Summer 2016 Semester

14-week session*

First day of classes Monday, May 16
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 23
Memorial Day - no classes Monday, May 30
4th of July - no classes Monday, July 4
Last day to withdrawMonday, July 25
Last day of classes Friday, August 19
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Tuesday, August 23
Degree conferrals for Summer 2016 OT Graduates Thursday, June 30
PA Graduates Saturday, July 30
All Other Graduates Tuesday, August 30

1st 7-week session*

First day of classes Monday, May 16
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 23
Memorial Day - no classes Monday, May 30
Last day to withdraw Friday, June 17
Last day of classes Sunday, July 3
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Tuesday, July 5

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Wednesday, July 6
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, July 13
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, August 9
Last day of classes Sunday, August 21
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Tuesday, August 23

12-week session*

First day of classes Monday, May 16
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 23
Memorial Day - no classes Monday, May 30
4th of July - no classes Monday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Thursday, July 14
Last day of classes Monday, August 8
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Wednesday, August 10

General Notes:
*Monday classes in these sessions have fewer meeting days than all other days of the week. Classes on these days will need to include equivalent instructional activities to make up the time.

2015-2016 School of Health Sciences

Note: Graduate Psychology programs follow the SASB and FSS calendar. (rev. 8.12.2015)

+ Fall 2015 Semester | Physician Assistant Studies

Physician Assistant Studies

First day of classesThursday, August 13
Add/drop period ends Thursday, August 20
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Registration for Spring, Maymester and Summer 2016 Tue-Fri, November 3-13
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, November 17
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Saturday, December 19
Commencement, 5:00 pm Friday, December 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 21
Late registration for Spring 2016 begins Monday, December 21
Degree conferral for Fall 2015 graduates Wednesday, December 30

+ Spring 2016 Semester | Physician Assistant Studies

Physician Assistant Studies

First day of classesMonday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
Last day to withdraw Friday, April 22
Last day of classes Friday, May 20
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, May 23

+ Fall 2015 Semester | Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy

First day of classesMonday, August 17
Add/drop period ends Monday, August 24
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Registration for Spring, Maymester and Summer 2016 Tue-Fri, November 3-13
Last day to withdraw Monday, November 16
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Friday, December 18
Commencement, 5:00 pm Friday, December 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 21
Late registration for Spring 2016 begins Monday, December 21
Degree conferral for Fall 2015 graduates Wednesday, December 30

+ Spring 2016 Semester | Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy

First day of classesMonday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Last day to withdraw Friday, March 4
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Last day of classes Friday, April 8
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, April 11
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 29
Late registration for Fall 2016 begins Monday, May 2
Commencement, 10:00 am Monday, May 16
Degree conferral for Spring 2016 graduates Monday, May 30

+ Fall 2015 Semester | Occupational Therapy

Occupational Therapy

First day of classesMonday, August 31
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 8
Registration for Spring, Maymester and Summer 2016 Tue-Fri, November 3-13
Last day to withdraw Monday, November 9
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Saturday, December 12
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 14
Commencement, 5:00 pm Friday, December 18
Late registration for Spring 2016 begins Monday, December 21
Degree conferral for Fall 2015 graduates Wednesday, December 30

+ Spring 2016 Semester | Occupational Therapy

Occupational Therapy

First day of classesMonday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Last day to withdraw Monday, March 21
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
Last day of classes Monday, April 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Wednesday, April 27
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 29
Late registration for Fall 2016 begins Monday, May 2
Commencement, 10:00 am Monday, May 16
Degree conferral for Spring 2016 graduates Monday, May 30

+ Fall 2015 Semester | Pathways to Nursing

Pathways to Nursing

First day of classesMonday, August 31
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 8
Long Weekend Mon-Tues, October 12-13
Last day to submit midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, October 16
Registration for Spring, Maymester and Summer 2016 Tue-Fri, November 3-13
Family & Friends Weekend Fri-Sun, November 6-8
Last day to withdraw Friday, November 20
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Friday, December 18
Commencement, 5:00 pm Friday, December 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 21
Late registration for Spring 2016 begins Monday, December 21
Degree conferral for Fall 2015 graduates Wednesday, December 30

+ Spring 2016 Semester | Pathways to Nursing

Pathways to Nursing

First day of classesMonday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Last day to submit midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 noonFriday, February 26
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Last day to withdraw Friday, March 25
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
Last day of classes Friday, April 22
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, April 25
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 29
Late registration for Fall 2016 begins Monday, May 2
Commencement, 10:00 am Monday, May 16
Degree conferral for Spring 2016 graduates Monday, May 30

+ Fall 2015 Semester | Nursing

14-week session

First day of classesMonday, August 31
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 9
Long Weekend Mon-Tues, October 12-13
Last day to submit midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, October 16
Registration for Spring, Maymester and Summer 2016 Tue-Fri, November 3-13
Family & Friends Weekend Fri-Sun, November 6-8
Last day to withdraw Friday, November 20
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Friday, December 18
Commencement, 5:00 pm Friday, December 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 21
Late registration for Spring 2016 begins Monday, December 21
Degree conferral for Fall 2015 graduates Wednesday, December 30

1st 7-week session

Opening Convocation Sunday, August 30
First day of classes Monday, August 31
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 7
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 8
Last day to withdraw Monday, October 5
Last day of classes Monday, October 19
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, October 26

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Wednesday, October 21
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, October 28
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, November 24
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 25-29
Last day of classes Saturday, December 12
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, December 18

+ Spring 2016 Semester | Nursing

14-week session

First day of classesMonday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Last day to withdraw Monday, March 21
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
Last day of classes Monday, April 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Wednesday, April 20
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 29
Late registration for Fall 2016 begins Monday, May 2
Commencement, 10:00 am Monday, May 16
Degree conferral for Spring 2016 graduates Monday, May 30

1st 7-week session

First day of classes Monday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Last day to withdraw Monday, February 8
Last day of classes Monday, February 22
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Wednesday, February 24
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 29
Late registration for Fall 2016 begins Monday, May 2
Commencement, 10:00 am Monday, May 16
Degree conferral for Spring 2016 graduates Monday, May 30

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Tuesday, February 23
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, March 1
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/12) Sun-Fri, March 6-11
Registration for Fall 2016 Tue-Fri, March 15-25
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, March 26
Last day to withdraw Monday, April 4
Closing Convocation Tuesday, April 12
Last day of classes Monday, April 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Wednesday, April 20
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 29
Late registration for Fall 2016 begins Monday, May 2
Commencement, 10:00 am Monday, May 16
Degree conferral for Spring 2016 graduates Monday, May 30

General notes: PA, PT, & OT child term sessions are for the purposes of scheduling and evaluation and are disregarded for the purposes of add/drop, withdrawal, and billing. All sessions under the PA, PT & OT parent term follow the parent term dates listed above.

2016-2017 School of Arts, Science & Business and Falk School of Sustainability

Note: Graduate Psychology programs follow the SASB and FSS calendar.

+ Fall 2016 Semester

14-week session

Opening ConvocationSunday, August 28
First day of classesMonday, August 29
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 5
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 6
Long Weekend Mon-Tues, October 10-11
Last day to withdraw Monday, November 7
Family & Friends Weekend Fri-Sun, November 4-6
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 23-27
Last day of classes Saturday, December 10
Final Exams (grades are due within 48 hours of exam) Mon-Thurs, Dec. 12-15
Grades due, 5:00 pm Friday, December 16
Commencement, 7:00 pm Friday, December 16

1st 7-week session (no Long Weekend for 7-week courses)

Opening Convocation Sunday, August 28
First day of classes Monday, August 29
Labor Day - classes in session Monday, September 5
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 6
Last day to withdraw Monday, October 3
Last day of classes Monday, October 17
Grades due, 12:00 noon Monday, October 24

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Wednesday, October 19
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, October 26
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, November 22
Thanksgiving break - no classes Wed-Sun, November 23-27
Last day of classes Saturday, December 10
Grades due, 5:00 pmFriday, December 16

General notes:
Rosh Hashanah is Oct. 2-4 and Yom Kippur is Oct. 12
No Long Weekend for 1st 7-week session courses
Monday courses have one fewer meeting day; classes will need equivalent instructional activies.
University of Pittsburgh classes begin August 29 and end December 17

+ Spring 2017 Semester

14-week session

First day of classes Wednesday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 16
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/11) Sun-Fri, March 5-10
Registration Opens TBD
Last day to withdraw Monday, March 20
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, April 15
Last Day of Classes Monday, April 17
Final Exams Wed-Sat, April 19-22
Grades due, 12:00 noon Wednesday, April 26
University Day and Buckets & Blossoms (classes are in session) Friday, April 28

1st 7-week session

First day of classes Monday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Monday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Last day to withdraw Monday, February 6
Last day of classes Tuesday, February 21
Grades due, 12:00 noon Monday, February 28

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Wednesday, February 22
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, February 28
Spring Break (Saturday classes meet 3/11) Sun-Fri, March 5-10
Easter weekend - no Saturday classes Saturday, April 15
Last day to withdraw Monday, April 3
Last day of classesMonday, April 17
Grades due, 12:00 noon Wednesday, April 26

Maymester

First day of classes Monday, April 24
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, April 26
Last day to withdraw Friday, May 5
Last day of classes Friday, May 12
Grades due, 3:00 pm Friday, May 12
Commencement Monday, May 15

General notes:
* There are only 13 Tuesday classes in the 14-week sessions. Classes should meet +15 minutes or require equivalent instructional activities to make up the time.
Pitt classes start Jan 4 and end April 29, with Commencement April 30

+ Summer 2016 Semester

14-week session*

First day of classes Monday, May 1
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 8
Memorial Day - no classes Monday, May 29
4th of July - no classes Tuesday, July 4
Last day to withdrawMonday, July 10
Last day of classes Monday, August 14
Grades due, 2:00 noon Monday, August 14

1st 7-week session*

First day of classes Monday, May 1
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 8
Memorial Day - no classes Monday, May 29
Last day to withdraw Monday, June 5
Last day of classes Monday, June 19
Grades due, 12:00 noon Monday, June 26

2nd 7-week session

First day of classes Tuesday, June 20
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, June 28
4th of July - no classes Tuesday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, July 25
Last day of classes Monday, August 7
Gradues due, 12:00 noon Monday, August 14

12-week session*

First day of classes Monday, May 15
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 22
Memorial Day - no classes Monday, May 29
4th of July - no classes Tuesday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Monday, July 17
Last day of classes Monday, August 7
Grades due, 12:00 noon Wednesday, August 14

General Notes:
July 4th holiday will impact Tuesday classes in the relevant sessions. Classes on these days will need to include equivalent instructional activities to make up the time.

Note: The University reserves the right to make calendar changes as it deems necessary.