Chatham University Alumni Awards

Chatham University’s Alumni Awards were established to honor the contributions and achievements of our alumni. Each year, the Alumni Association’s Awards Committee works to identify and research nominees, and the finalists are selected through a vote of the Alumni Association’s Board of Directors. View the 2022 honorees by clicking here. 

Photo of President Finegold presenting a alumna with an award

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award is chosen by the Alumni Association Board and presented to an individual whose achievements represent the fulfillment of the mission of the University: Women’s Leadership, Sustainability & the Environment, Global Understanding, and Innovation & Research.  

Photo of five alumni smiling

Alumni Cornerstone Awards

The Alumni Cornerstone Awards were established to recognize achievements and leadership of Chatham undergraduate alumni who demonstrate the essence of a Chatham education.

Photo of two women smiling together

William Trimble Beatty Volunteer Award

The William Trimble Beatty Volunteer Award is named for Reverend William Trimble Beatty and is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated devoted service to the University. 

Photo of three smiling women holding awards

Young Alumni Awards

The Young Alumni Awards are awarded to one undergraduate and one graduate alumni of the past 15 years who have demonstrated a commitment to the core values of Chatham through their professional work and/or volunteer efforts. The Young Alumni Award Winners are selected through a nomination and review process by the Young Alumni Awards Selection Committee. 

2022 Alumni Award Recipients

The Distinguished Alumni Award

The Honorable Dame Vivian Lowery Derryck ’67 

The William Trimble Beatty Volunteer Award 

Ms. Joanne Fiedler ’72 

Young Alumni Award, Graduate

Casey Trinkaus, MAFS ’14

Young Alumni Award, Undergraduate

Kayla McLaughlin ’09, MPAS ’15


The Cornerstone Awards 

The Cornerstone Award for Ministry 

The Reverend Elizabeth Platz Smith ’62 

The Cornerstone Award for Business 

Ms. Terri Schnell Thomasma ’82 

The Cornerstone Award for Marketing 

Ms. Heidi Bowen Gracie ’87 

The Cornerstone Award for Law 

The Honorable Dawn M. Kulick ’92 

The Cornerstone Award for Sociology  

Dr. Elroi J. Windsor ’97